Wednesday, November 14, 2007


The 52-ton Hunt House, possibly the oldest building in Delray Beach, was built 100 years ago on land owned by George Linton. Hunt House was to be demolished for townhouse construction, but the developer donated it to the historical society. It was moved to the Old School Square Historic Arts District, next to the Delray Beach Historical Society’s 1926 Bungalow and Cason Cottage House Museum. During the move, crews removed traffic signals in the way and Florida Power & Light Co. linemen held up the lines from cherry pickers. The train stopped, police blocked the streets, and small crowds gathered to watch 100 years of history go by. The move was supervised by Keith Kleppinger, president of Russell Building Movers Inc. of Miami. The move cost between $50,000 and $60,000 and was paid for with donations and funds from the city, county and state. Local architects Bridges, Marsh & Associates, whose offices were in Hunt House from 1977 to 2005, and restoration contractor Ken Blair are donating their services to renovate the house as a learning and resource center for the Historical Society, showcasing Delray Beach’s history. Blair will be stripping of dozens of paint layers that accumulated over the years and exposing the original wood inside the house. The exterior will get a fresh coat of paint changing from light yellow to its original white. It is to open in about one year, when Palm Beach County’s Centennial Celebration will begin. A new structure behind Hunt House will become home for the society’s archives

No comments: